



August 21, 2024

Sent via email: premier@ontario.ca

The Honourable Doug Ford Premier of Ontario Premier's Office, Room 281 Legislative Building, Queen's Park Toronto, ON M7A 1A1

RE: Concerns with the Transport and Deposition of Naturally Occurring Radioactive Material (NORM) at the Agnew Lake Tailings Management Area (ALTMA)

Dear Premier Ford,

I am writing to you on behalf of the Council of the Township of Nairn and Hyman and the Council of the Township of Baldwin to formally submit the attached resolution passed jointly by the two Councils at a Joint Emergency Council Meeting on August 19, 2024.

Our two Townships very recently learned of the decision to transport naturally occurring radioactive material (NORM) from the former Beaucage Mine Site and Nipissing First Nation reserve lands and deposit it at the Agnew Lake Tailings Management Area in the Township of Nairn and Hyman. The decision to transport and deposit NORM has far-reaching implications for the environment, public health, and safety of our communities, and this significant decision was made without any consultation with our municipalities and the other municipalities located near Agnew Lake or along the Highway 17 corridor.

In addition to the participation of our municipalities in this Emergency Council Meeting, many representatives from surrounding First Nations attended the meeting, underscoring the widespread concern across our region about this impending project. The planned transportation of NORM is scheduled to begin in the coming weeks, therefore we respectfully request your attention to this urgent matter.

The resolution reads as follows:

RESOLUTION: 2024-EM1-2 DATE: August 19, 2024 MOVED BY: Councillor McVey SECONDED BY: Councillor Cote **WHEREAS** the Council of the Corporation of the Township of Nairn and Hyman and the Council of the Corporation the Township of Baldwin have been informed of the decision to transport naturally occurring radioactive material (NORM) from the former Beaucage Mine and Nipissing First Nation reserve land, and deposit it at the Agnew Lake Tailings Management Area (ALTMA) in the Township of Nairn and Hyman; and

WHEREAS this decision has significant implications for the environment, public health, and safety of the surrounding communities, including those within the Township of Nairn and Hyman and the Township of Baldwin; and

WHEREAS the decision to transport and deposit NORM to the ALTMA site was made without any consultation with the Township of Nairn and Hyman or the other municipalities bordering Agnew Lake, resulting in the exclusion of local municipalities from the decision-making process; and

WHEREAS the exclusion of local municipalities from this process represents a serious breach of trust and a disregard for the well-being of the residents of these communities; and

WHEREAS there are significant concerns among residents regarding the potential contamination of drinking water sources, particularly Agnew Lake, which many residents rely on for safe drinking water; and

WHEREAS the risks associated with NORM are well-documented, and the proximity of the ALTMA to Agnew Lake heightens the concerns regarding the potential contamination of this vital water source; and

WHEREAS according to information received from the Ministry of Mines, there are already some areas of the ALTMA site where dose estimates exceed the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission's regulatory limit for casual site users; and

WHEREAS the Council of the Corporation of the Township of Nairn and Hyman and the Council of the Corporation of the Township of Baldwin held a joint Emergency Council Meeting on August 19, 2024;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Council of the Corporation of the Township of Nairn and Hyman and the Council of the Corporation of the Township of Baldwin respectfully demands that the Province of Ontario, the Ministry of Mines and the Ministry of Transportation immediately halt the project involving the transportation and deposition of NORM at the ALTMA site until a clear line of communication is established with local municipalities; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT the Council of the Corporation of the Township of Nairn and Hyman and the Council of the Corporation of the Township of Baldwin respectfully demands full disclosure of all pertinent details regarding the proposed future NORM transportation and deposition plan, including specific transportation routes, emergency response plans, safety protocols, and the future management plan for the ALTMA site; and

THAT the Council of the Corporation of the Township of Nairn and Hyman and the Council of the Corporation of the Township of Baldwin insists that environmental and health impact assessments be conducted with input from independent experts, and that these assessments include opportunities for public hearings to ensure transparency and community involvement; and

THAT the Province of Ontario enact legislation that consultation with municipalities is a requirement of any projects that include the transportation or deposition of NORM; and

THAT a copy of this resolution be forwarded to the Honourable Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario; the Honourable George Pirie, the Minister of Mines; the Honourable Prabmeet Sarkaria, the Minister of Transportation; the Honourable Andrea Khanjin, the Minister of the Environment, Conservation and Parks; Chief Toulouse and Sagamok Anishnawbek Council Members; Chief Nootchtai and Atikameksheng Anishnawbek Council Members; the Ontario Ombudsman; the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission; the Canadian Environmental Law Association; MP Carol Hughes; MPP Michael Mantha; the Association of Ontario Municipalities and all Ontario Municipalities.

CARRIED

For more information regarding this matter, please contact our municipal office by email at <u>belindaketchabaw@nairncentre.ca</u> or by phone at (705) 869-4232.

Yours truly,

Belinda Ketchabaw CAO Clerk Treasurer Township of Nairn and Hyman

Cc:

Honourable George Pirie, the Minister of Mines Honourable Prabmeet Sarkaria, the Minister of Transportation Honourable Andrea Khanjin, the Minister of the Environment, Conservation and Parks Chief Toulouse and Sagamok Anishnawbek Council Members Chief Nootchtai and Atikameksheng Anishnawbek Council Members Ontario Ombudsman Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission Canadian Environmental Law Association MP Carol Hughes MPP Michael Mantha Association of Ontario Municipalities All Ontario Municipalities